After the end of league round, Mumbai Indians have finished as toppers with 20 points from 14 matches. Now they can enjoy the advantage of having two chance to get to the final. By considering the current all-round form of Rohit Sharma lead Mumbai Indians they have all the chance to get in to the finals and win the title

But from here now we have something interesting to discuss as statistics has a different story to tell. According to the stats, team that has finished at the top after the league stage has never won the championship. Mumbai will have to rewrite the history in order to capture their third IPL title.

Pune, who finished second with 18 points, will probably be excited to learn that since the play-offs were introduced, team at the number two position has always clinched the title barring the 2016 season.

A look back at the history of the IPL finals since 2011

2011: RCB (1) vs CSK (2) – Winner CSK

2012: KKR (2) vs CSK (4) – Winner KKR

2013: CSK (1) vs MI (2) – Winner MI

2014: KXIP (1) vs KKR (2) – Winner KKR

2015: CSK (1) vs MI (2) – Winner MI

2016: RCB (2) vs SRH (3) – Winner SRH