Virat Kohli has been rested from the one day series against Sri Lanka. Rohit Sharma will be leading the Indian team in the absence of Kohli in the three games against Sri Lanka. However Kohli will be the captain for the  Indian team for the third Test at his homeground, Ferozeshah Kotla.

The squad for the three match ODI series have been announce, which Include Rohit (c), Shikhar, Ajinkya, Shreyas, Manish, Kedar, Dinesh, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik, Axar, Kuldeep, Chahal, Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar, Sidharth Kaul.

There are two new faces in the ODI squad: batsman Shreyas Iyer and seam bowler Siddarth Kaul. Shreyas Iyer, who played his T20 international debut against New Zealand last month. He is expected to bat in Kohli’s place at number three.The squad also includesthe Punjab right-arm medium pace bowler  Siddharth Kaul, he was a member of the 2008 U-19 World Cup winning team led by Kohli. Kaul was also been a part of Delhi Daredevils and Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL.

The last time Kohli was not part of the Indian team in an international match was due to a shoulder injury. It was in the Dharamsala Test against Australia earlier this year.

The selectors has not yet selected the team for the South Africa series. They decided to wait till the third Test, to name the team for the South Africa tour.