Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the 15 men squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy in England. The much awaited announcement put an end to all the confusions regarding India’s participation in the ICC mega event

Several star players who were struggling with injuries made a comeback after proving their fitness. Mohammad Shami is the biggest name in the list of ‘returned’ players. The 26-year old was India’s best bowler in the 2015 World Cup but since then chronic leg injuries had put a halt to his 50-over career.

Star opener Rohit Sharma also reclaimed his spot as the first-choice opener. R Ashwin, who is currently recovering from a sports hernia, along with Ravindra Jadeja will crop the spin duo and can expect part-time assistance from Yuvraj Singh, who kept his spot after his ODI career was given a re-start in the series against England in January.

MS Dhoni is the only wicketkeeper in the 15 men squad and chief selector MSK Prasad pointed the importance of having MS Dhoni in the playing eleven.  ”I could not remember even a single day in the last 10 to 12 years when Dhoni was bad behind the stumps,” said Prasad during the press conference.

The selectors also assessed Dhoni as a key batsman In tight situations who can simply change the direction of the match and bring success for the team.

Here is the 15-member squad for champions trophy

Virat Kohli (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, and Umesh Yadav.